Welcome, Traveler!

Hello there,

 

My name is Nicholas Kennedy, and above this post you will find my personal experience with Tour Divide, the 2,745 mile mountain bike race from Banff, CA to Antelope Wells, NM.

 

My perspective is that of a complete “noob”, a “wanna-be”, a “rookie”, and  a “wimp”.  As you read, remember that.   One day I’ll go back and use the lessons learned in the following pages to race again. I completed this race in 2011, when I was 22 years old.

 

If you’re thinking of racing, touring, seeing all or part, or simply want to know more about the race, please feel free to look this over.  Ask me questions, and I’ll answer as best as I can.

 

It’s a life-changing journey.  Best wishes to those gearing up for the race.

 

I’d also like to take this time to thank everyone who supported me during this endeavor. Thank you to everyone who watched and cheered as my little Blue Dot bounce up and down the Continental Divide.  I’d like to thank my friends for believing in me, every trail angel I met for helping me in my times of need, my family for supporting me in this trip, and especially my mother.  I know I gave you more gray hairs than you deserved, and that you didn’t leave the house for the month that I was gone, for fear that I might hit my SPOT emergency button and you would need to fly out to save me. Thanks, Mom.

 

Cheers,

 

Nicholas

Jamis1

7 comments on “Welcome, Traveler!

  1. Great write up Nick ! I am enjoying each chapter and am impressed with you ride. I have some pictures from Banff, Crazy Larry making a balloon for you and day 1. Check out my blog, linked below.

    • Nicholas says:

      Oh yeah? I’d love to see that picture! I kept that balloon for the first day. Left it in Elkford, though. I’m sure he’d make me another though. I’ll take a look at your blog!

  2. John L. says:

    Thanks for taking the time to write up your experiences Nick. I’ve been fascinated with the idea of riding the divide for a few years now and read every account I can. You have a very engaging writing style.

  3. simon cross says:

    Hi Nicholas,
    Thank you for the write up. Good fun and you painted a real picture.

    I am an Australian who is going to participate in the TD in 2014. Excellent to get another perspective.

    Good effort and congratulations

  4. Josh says:

    Nicholas- Thanks so much for putting this out there. I REALLY enjoyed reading it. I made the decision to race the TD in much the same way you did. I saw Ride the Divide, immediately thought “those guys are crazy” and woke up the next morning determined to do it (and finish!). I’ve started my training now for the 2014 race and your story has really inspired me. It seems we live in the same city, and I would really love to buy you a beer and pick your brain on building a proper bike for this, etc.

Leave a Reply

